New Waves August 2007

Breaking news about water resources research and education in Texas

TWRI awards Mills Scholarships to graduate students

The Texas Water Resources Institute (TWRI) recently awarded Mills Scholarships to 17 Texas A&M University graduate students for the 2007-08 academic year to pursue water-related research.

TWRI’s Mills Scholars Program, an endowed fund that supports research in water conservation and management, provided the $1,500 scholarships to the students to use for education-related expenses. TWRI uses the Mills Scholars program to encourage and assist current and prospective graduate students to incorporate water resources studies into their graduate programs at Texas A&M University.

Students receiving the scholarships include:

  • Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering: Rene Davina Elms
  • Department of Agricultural Economics: Callie Rogers and Justin Baker
  • Department of Soil and Crop Sciences: James Applewhite, Stephen Caster, Suzika Pagan-Riestra and Tim Pannkuk
  • Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering: Debabrata Sahoo and Deepti
  • Department of Biology: Kranthi K. Mandadi
  • Department of Ecosystems Science and Management: De’Etra Jenra Young
  • Department of Geography: Lei Meng
  • Department of Geology and Geophysics: Omar Richard Harvey
  • Department of Rangeland Ecology and Management: Roberto A. Bazan, Jr.
  • Spatial Sciences Laboratory: Sivarajah Mylevaganam
  • Water Degree Program: Richard E. Rapier
  • Zachry Department of Civil Engineering: Dong Suk Han
Some of the research being conducted by this year’s Mills Scholars includes impacts of water supply contracts on Texas water use, runoff generation, effects of urbanization on water quality and desalination.

Mills Cox, a former chairman of the Texas Water Development Board, endowed the Mills Scholarships.

For more information on the Mill’s Scholarship Program or to learn more about the projects, contact the Texas Water Resources Institute at (979)845-1851 or

Back to Top