Mills Scholarships awarded to four TAMU students

The Texas Water Resources Institute (TWRI) has awarded 2018 Mills Scholarships to four graduate students conducting water-related research at Texas A&M University.The scholarship winners are:

  • Duncan Kikoyo, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering. Advisor: Dr. Clyde Munster. Research: Holistic hydro-economical approach to quantification and valuation of watershed and source protection benefits: A case study of Big Elm Creek Watershed, Texas, USA.
  • Lindsay Sansom, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management. Advisor: Dr. Kent Portney, Bush School. Research: Risk perception and trust in Texas-Mexico transboundary groundwater sharing.
  • Wonmin Sohn, Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning. Advisor: Dr. Ming-Han Li. Research: The impact of climate conditions on the urbanization-runoff process and implications for low impact development.
  • Kirby Young, Water Management and Hydrological Sciences, College of Geosciences. Advisor: Dr. Jacqueline Aitkenhead-Peterson, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences. Research: Biogeochemistry of urban, suburban and rural ponds and lakes in South Central Texas, USA.

TWRI administers the Mills Scholars Program, an annual competitive scholarship program supporting graduate research in water at Texas A&M University, Texas A&M University-Galveston and Texas A&M University-Qatar. This program is funded through the W.G. Mills Memorial Endowment. Since 2001, TWRI has funded scholarships for 188 students involved in water-related studies.

The Mills Scholars Program will begin accepting applications for the 2019 academic year in fall 2018. For more information, visit the Mills webpage.


Danielle Kalisek is the Assistant Director for Institute Operations for the Texas Water Resources Institute. In this role, she manages institute business, particularly the pre-award through account setup processes and state and designated accounts, she also coordinates communications and websites services and needs for the institute.

Share this post

Learn More