Karthikeyan replaces Kaiser as Water Management and Hydrological Science program chair

Dr. R. Karthikeyan, associate professor in the Texas A&M University Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, was recently appointed as the program chair for the Texas A&M’s Water Management and Hydrological Science (WMHS) Program, an interdisciplinary program housed in the College of Geosciences.

He replaces former program chair Dr. Ronald Kaiser, professor in the Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Sciences, who served as chair since the program’s start in 2005. Kaiser recently received the 2017 Innovator Award from the College of Geosciences for his leadership of the program.

The graduate program was created to foster the discovery and application of knowledge about water management, conservation and protection. The program offers a wide range of water-related courses available to students due to the interdisciplinary nature of the water issues.

Currently there are more than 60 students pursuing a graduate degree within this major from the colleges of: Agriculture and Life Sciences, Engineering, Geosciences and Architecture, and the School of Public Health. More than 70 faculty members are currently participating in the WMHS program.

For more information about the program, visit its website.

Share this post