Mills Scholarships awarded to four TAMU students

The Texas Water Resources Institute (TWRI) has awarded 2016 Mills Scholarships to four graduate students conducting water-related research at Texas A&M University.

The scholarship recipients are:

  • Kyungtae Lee, Zachry Department of Civil Engineering. Advisor: Dr. Huilin Gao. Research: Impact of future hydrologic extremes on water supply and irrigation water demand under changing climate in Texas.
  • Xiangmin Sun, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management. Advisor: Dr. Bradford Wilcox. Research: Combined high-resolution remote sensing for measuring evapotranspiration in Brazos County, TX.
  • Anastasia Thayer, Department of Agricultural Economics. Advisor: Dr. Bruce McCarl. Research: Assessing crop yields under climate change and decadal climate variability in the High Plains: impacts and adaptation strategies.
  • Liyan Tian, Department of Geography. Advisor: Dr. Steven M. Quiring. Research: Impact of climate oscillations on precipitation variability in Texas.

TWRI administers the Mills Scholars Program, an annual competitive scholarship program supporting graduate research in water at Texas A&M University, Texas A&M University-Galveston and Texas A&M University-Qatar. This program is funded through the W.G. Mills Memorial Endowment. Since 2001, TWRI has funded more than $313,000 in scholarships for 180 students involved in water-related studies.

The Mills Scholars Program will begin accepting applications for 2017 in fall 2016. For more information, visit the Mills Scholars Program

Share this post

Learn More